

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES January 12, 2017

Members:

Alternate

<u>Council Chair</u>: Dr. Ali AL-Asadi Council Vice-Chair: Mr. Mike Moman

<u>President:</u> Mr. Don Gnatiuk | **Notice of Absence**

<u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> Ms. Susan Bansgrove

<u>Deans</u>: Mr. Chris Laue

Dr. Shirley Pasieka

Ms. Jennifer Robertson / Acting Dean, Student Experience

<u>Academic Staff Association</u>: Dr. Ali AL-Asadi

Dr. Charles Backman | Notice of Absence

Mr. Matthew Bain

Mr. Alan Hagen | Notice of Absence
Dr. Jean Reston | Notice of Absence

Ms. Carolyn Vasileiou Ms. Teresa Evans

Mr. Darcy Moss | *Notice of Absence*

Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu Mr. Bryan Taylor Dr. Christy Barlund

Ms. Sheryl Heikel | For Dr. Charles Backman

Ms. Terrah Lindsay Dr. Denise Nowicki

Ms. Tamara VanTassell | For Dr. Jean Reston

Students' Association: Mr. Mike Moman

Mr. Ryan Sivorot Ms. Georgia Riddell Mr. Blaine Badiuk Mr. Shane Verduyn

Employees' Association: Ms. Paula Backer

Ms. Sheila Moerkoert

Alternate Ms. Shawnna Boyd

Alberta Union of Provincial Employees: Ms. Stacey Basnett | Notice of Absence

Alternate Ms. Lenora Roy /For Stacey Basnett

<u>Community Members</u>: Ms. Darlene Repka-Smith | *Notice of Absence*

Mr. Sandy McDonald *Resigned this month*

3892. CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:00p.m.

3893. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved by consensus as presented with the addition of Instructor Emeritus for Dr. Tom Enders.

3894. APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of December 8, 2016 were approved by consensus as presented.

3895. ACADEMIC COUNCIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Program Review Committee are: Ms. Susan Bansgrove, (Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Shirley Pasieka or Mr. Chris Laue), Ms. Pam McInroy, Ms. Glori Palmer, Dr. Charles Backman, Dr. Ali AL-Asadi, Mr. Dave Hiebert, Ms. Cathy Srayko and Mr. Mike Moman.

MOVED by Ms. Boyd and **SECONDED** by Ms. Robertson, that Academic Council approve the members for the Program Review Committee 2016-2017 as presented.

CARRIED

3896. COMMITTEE REPORTS

RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITEE

Academic Council received the December 7, 2016 minutes for the Research Planning Committee as information.

3897. INSTRUCTOR EMERITUS

MOVED by Ms. Bansgrove and **SECONDED** by Ms. Vasileiou, that Academic Council approve Instructor Emeritus status for Dr. Tom Enders.

CARRIED

3898. OPEN DISCUSSION

Council recognized the contribution made by the Grande Prairie Regional College Students' Association (GPRCSA) towards building a strong relationship with GPRC. Services that Ms. Jennifer Robertson provided in her role as Acting Dean of Student Experience. Members of Council unanimously asked that "thank you" notes to be sent to the GPRCSA and its President, Mr. Mike Moman, and to Ms. Jennifer Robertson and that this action be recorded in the minutes.

Council Members were informed of the sudden illness of Dr. Tom Enders, and unanimously agreed that a "get well" note be sent to Dr. Tom Enders.

Council members were informed of the resignation of Council member Mr. Sandy McDonald.

3899. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Dr. Ali AL -Asadi	Ms. Laryssa Haycock
Chair	Records

3892.	CALL TO ORDER	3014
3893.	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	3014
3894.	APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES	3014
3895.	ACADEMIC COUNCIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS	3014
3896.	COMMITTEE REPORTS	3014
3897.	INSTRUCTOR EMERITUS	3014
3898.	OPEN DISCUSSION	3014
3899.	ADJOURNMENT	3015