

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 8, 2016

Members:

<u>Council Chair</u> : <u>Council Vice-Chair</u> :	Dr. Ali AL-Asadi
<u>President</u> : <u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> <u>Deans</u> :	Mr. Don Gnatiuk <i>Notice of Absence</i> Ms. Susan Bansgrove <i>Notice of Absence</i> Mr. Chris Laue Dr. Shirley Pasieka Ms. Jennifer Robertson <i> Acting Dean, Student Experience</i>
<u>Academic Staff Association</u> :	Dr. Ali AL-Asadi Dr. Charles Backman <i>Notice of Absence</i> Mr. Matthew Bain <i>Notice of Absence</i> Mr. Alan Hagen Dr. Jean Reston Ms. Carolyn Vasileiou Ms. Theresa Evans Mr. Darcy Moss Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu Mr. Bryan Taylor
<u>Alternate</u>	Dr. Christy Barlund Ms. Sheryl Heikel <i>For Dr. Charles Backman</i> Ms. Terrah Lindsay <i> For Mr. Matthew Bain</i> Dr. Denise Nowicki Ms. Tamara VanTassell
Students' Association:	Mr. Mike Moman Mr. Ryan Sivorot Ms. Georgia Riddell
Employees' Association: Alternate	Ms. Paula Backer Ms. Shawnna Boyd
Alberta Union of Provincial Employees:	Ms. Stacey Basnett
<u>Community Members</u> :	Ms. Darlene Repka-Smith <i>Absent</i> Mr. Sandy McDonald <i>Notice of Absence</i>

- 3853. CALL TO ORDER The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:00p.m.
- 3854. APPROVAL OF AGENDA The agenda was approved by consensus as presented.
- 3855. APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES The minutes of April 28, 2016 were approved by consensus as presented.
- 3856. ACADEMIC COUNCIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

CO-CURRICULAR COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Co-Curricular Committee are: Jennifer Robertson, Edward Bader, Matthew Bain, Mike Moman and Carla Dodd.

MOVED by Ms. Robertson and **SECONDED** by Mr. Hagen, that Academic Council approve the members of the Co-Curricular Committee 2016-2017 as presented.

CARRIED

CONVOCATION COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Convocation Committee are: Susan Bansgrove, Jennifer Robertson, Tina Strasbourg, Shawnna Boyd, Joanne Ballance, Ashley Walker, Mike Moman, Sukhvir Sandhu, Gwen Hoyseth, Mark Evans, Brian Parlee/David White and Cari Foster.

MOVED by Ms. Paula Backer and **SECONDED** by Ms. Vasileiou, that Academic Council approve the members of the Convocation Committee 2016-2017 as presented. CARRIED

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Curriculum Committee are: Don Gnatiuk, Susan Bansgrove, Jennifer Robertson, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Chris Laue, Tina Strasbourg, Gordon Pellerin, Brenda Lindquist, Ryan Sivorot, Mohammad Amin, Erika Thompson, Dr. Ali AL-Asadi, Sukhvir Sandhu, Jeff Nutting, Dallas Sawtell/Burt Hunt, Cassandra Kostuk, Vanessa Sheane, Chris Nichol, Dr. Robert Howey, Leanne Clair, Peter Sellers, Alan Hagen, Kevin Taylor, Karlee Worobetz, Christopher Mackinnon and Jeff Johnston.

MOVED by Dr. Pasieka and **SECONDED** by Mr. Hagen, that Academic Council approve the members of the Curriculum Committee as presented.

CARRIED

RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Research Planning Committee are: Susan Bansgrove, Chris Laue, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Dr. Bruce Rutley, Dr. Som Pillay, Dr. Anna Lapointe, Dr. Ali AL-Asadi, Amber Heavens, Dr. Connie Korpan, Dr. Craig Smith, Dr. Daryl White, Tamara VanTassell/Liz Richard, Shelley Brown, Dr. Chris Mizzi, Jeremy Peters and Mike Moman.

MOVED by Ms. Lindsay and **SECONDED** by Mr. Moman, that Academic Council approve the members of the Research Planning Committee as presented.

CARRIED

STUDENT AWARD COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Student Award Committee are: Carla Dodd, Theresa Suderman, Connie Korpan, Georgia Riddell, Mike Moman, Gordon Pellerin, Joanne Perrott and Hazel Liley.

MOVED by Ms. Vasileiou and **SECONDED** by Ms. Backer, that Academic Council approve the members of the Student Award Committee as presented.

CARRIED

VISUAL ARTS COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Visual Arts Committee are: Susan Bansgrove, Carmen Haakstad, Hazel Liley, Edward Bader, Dr. Christy Barlund, Jeff Nutting, Dale Kardas, Joan King, Ryan Sivorot, Dr. Ali AL-Asadi and Tanya Kinderwater.

MOVED by Mr. Moman and **SECONDED** by MR. Sivorot that Academic Council approve the members of the Visual Arts Committee as presented.

CARRIED

3857. COMMITTEE REPORTS

FAST TRACK COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the February 11, 2016 amended minutes for the Fast Track Committee as information.

Academic Council received the June 23, 2016 minutes for the Fast Track Committee as information.

TENURE COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the list of the Grande Prairie Regional College faculty that were awarded Tenure in May 2016 as information.

PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the list of Grande Prairie Regional College faculty who were granted Professional Leave for the 2016-2017 academic year as information.

RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the March 23, 2016 minutes for the Research Planning Committee as information.

3858. OPEN DISCUSSION

3859. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Dr. Ali AL -Asadi Chair Ms. Laryssa Haycock Records

 3854. APPROVAL OF AGENDA	87
	87
	87
3830. ACADEMIC COUNCIL COMMITTEL ELECTIONS	87
3857. COMMITTEE REPORTS 29	88
<i>3858.</i> OPEN DISCUSSION	89
3859. ADJOURNMENT 29	89