

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 11, 2017

ujkoMembers:

<u>Council Chair</u> : <u>Council Vice-Chair</u> :	Dr. Ali AL-Asadi
<u>President</u> : <u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> <u>Deans</u> :	Mr. Don Gnatiuk <i>Notice of Absence</i> Ms. Susan Bansgrove Mr. Chris Laue Dr. Kazem Mashkournia Ms. Pamela McInroy
<u>Academic Staff Association</u> :	Ms. Teresa Evans Mr. Darcy Moss Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu Mr. Bryan Taylor Ms. Deena Honan <i>Notice of Absence</i> Dr. Connie Korpan Mr. Richard McGrail Dr. Ali AL-Asadi Ms. Terrah Lindsay
<u>Alternate</u>	Mr. Clint Peterson Mr. Brian Carreau <i>for Ms. Deena Honan</i> Ms. Shelly Brown Ms. Denise Nowicki
Students' Association:	Mr. Blaine Badiuk Mr. Dravjot Minhas Mr. Brent Nordhagen Ms. Lindsay Comeau
Employees' Association: Alternate	Ms. Robin Smith Wilson Ms. Charlene MacIntyre Ms. Paula Backer
<u>Alberta Union of Provincial Employees</u> : <u>Alternate</u> Community Members:	Ms. Stacey Basnett Ms. Lenora Roy Mr. Nick Radujko
·	,

3907. CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

3908. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved by consensus as presented.

3909. APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of February 29, 2017 were approved by consensus as presented.

3910. ARTS, SCIENCE AND UPGRADING /HEALTH, WELLNESS AND CAREER STUDIES CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MINUTES ONLINE MOTION

Academic Council received the online motion of April 5, 2017 to approve recommendations within the Arts, Science and Upgrading/Health, Wellness and Career Studies Curriculum minutes of March 17, 2017 as information.

3911. RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITTEE MINUTES ONLINE MOTION

Academic Council received the online motion of April 5, 2017 for the Research Planning Committee minutes of February 1, 2017 as information.

3912. ACADEMIC COUNCIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

CO-CURRICULAR COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Co-Curricular Committee are: Ms. Pam McInroy, Ms. Edward Bader, Mr. Chris Nicol, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Ms. Carla Dodd and Ms. Anna Lapointe.

CONVOCATION COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Convocation Committee are: Ms. Susan Bansgrove, Ms. Pam McInroy, Mr. Ben Driedger, Ms. Ashley Goodbrand, Ms. Joanne Balance, Ms. Ashley Walker, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu, Mr. Rene Gadacz-Gould, Mr. Mark Evans, Mr. Brian Parlee/Mr. David White and Ms. Cari Foster.

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Curriculum Committee are: Mr. Don Gnatiuk, Ms. Susan Bansgrove, Ms. Pam McInroy, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Mr. Chris Laue, Mr. Ben Driedger, Mr. Gordon Pellerin, Mr. Mohammad Amin, Ms. Brenda Lindquist, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Mr. Erika Thompson, Ms. Tina Strasbourg, Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu, Ms. Carly McLeod, Ms. Tanya Ray, Mr. Michelle Turick, Mr. Chris Nicol, Mr. Robert Howey, Mr. Bill Antonello, Mr. Jeremy Peters, Mr. Jerry Chick, Ms. Christy Barlund, Ms. Lindsay Rosser and Mr. Peter Gerzanich.

PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Program Review Committee are: Ms. Susan Bansgrove, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Mr. Chris Laue, Ms. Pam McInroy, Mr. Mohammad Amin, Me. Glori Palmer, Ms. Wendy McMillan, Dr. Ali, Al-Asadi, Mr. Clint Peterson, Mr. Sheila Moerkoert, Ms. Cathy Srayko and Mr. Blaine Badiuk.

RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Research Planning Committee are: Ms. Susan Bansgrove, Mr. Chris Laue, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Dr. Bruce Rutley, Dr. Andrew Dunlop Dr. Ali Al-Asadi, Ms. Christy Barlund, Ms. Anna Lapointe, Dr. Som Pillay, Ms. Vanessa Sheane, Dr. Connie Korpan, Ms. Raoudha Kallel, Mr. Brian Redmond, Ms Tamara VanTassell, Mr. Kelly McNaught, Ms. Chris Mizzi, Mr. Jeremy Peters, Ms. Anna Gillis, Ms. Stacey Basnett, Mr. Mark Evans/Ms Taylor Merkley and Blaine Badiuk.

STUDENT AWARD COMMITTEE

The nominees for the Student Award Committee are: Ms. Carla Dodd, Ms. Theresa Suderman, Ms, Heather Joyce, Mr. Gordon Pellerin, Ms. Joanne Perrott and Ms. Velda McKenzie-Diederich.

MOVED by Ms. Backer and **SECONDED** by Dr. Korpan, that Academic Council approve the members of the Academic Standing Committees as presented.

CARRIED

3913. COMMITTEE REPORTS

RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the April 17, 2017 minutes for the Research Planning Committee as information.

3914. TENURE COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the list of the Grande Prairie Regional College faculty that were awarded Tenure in May 2017 as information.

3915. PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE

Academic Council received the list of Grande Prairie Regional College faculty who were granted Professional Leave for the 2017-2018 academic year as information.

3916. OPEN DISCUSSION

3917. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Dr. Ali AL -Asadi Chair Ms. Laryssa Haycock Records

3907.	CALL TO ORDER	3028
3908.	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	3028
3909.	APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES	3028
3910.	ARTS, SCIENCE AND UPGRADING /HEALTH, WELLNESS AND CAREER STUD CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MINUTES ONLINE MOTION	
3911.	RESEARCH PLANNING COMMITTEE MINUTES ONLINE MOTION	3028
3912.	ACADEMIC COUNCIL COMMITTEE ELECTIONS	3028
3913.	COMMITTEE REPORTS	3030
3914.	TENURE COMMITTEE	3030
3915.	PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE	3030
3916.	OPEN DISCUSSION	3030
3917.	ADJOURNMENT	3030