

# ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES 8 October 2020

## Members:

<u>Council Chair</u> : <u>Council Vice-Chair</u> :	Denise Nowicki	
<u>President</u> : <u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> <u>Deans</u> :	Robert Murray John Rigby Vanessa Sheane Charles Sanderson Aman Litt	Notice of Absence
Academic Staff Association:	Julia Dutove Lesley Brazier Jeremy Parker Breianne Renyk Craig Smith Misha Albert	Notice of Absence
Alternates	Kieren Bailey Deena Honan Myles Mintzler Elena Voskovskaia Peter Sellers	Notice of Absence
	Tamara Van Tassell Riley Buker Mandy Pollock Shawn Morton	
Students' Association:	Emma Doris Devansh Kapor Brooklyn Broaders John Tiede	
Employees' Association:	Lana Bennett Chad Boone	
Alternate	Lisa Hollis	
Alberta Union of Provincial Employees:	Stacey Basnett Lynette Tye	
Community Members:	Nick Radujko	Notice of Absence

Sandra Impey

Notice of Absence

Guests:

Brian Redmond

#### 4079 CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the ZOOM Academic Council meeting to order at 4:00 P.M.

#### 4080 WELCOME

The Chair introduced and welcomed the new Vice-President, Academic and Research, Dr. John Rigby.

#### 4081 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved by consensus as presented.

#### 4082 MINUTES

The minutes of 14 April 2020 were approved by consensus as presented.

#### 4083 ACADEMIC COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

**MOVED** by; Julia Dutove and **SECONDED** by; Deena Honan that, Academic Council approve the recommended Academic Council Sub-Committee members for approval as presented. Any Sub-Committee membership vacancies shall be filled by the approval of the Vice-President, Academic and Research.

CARRIED

In approving the Academic Council Sub-Committee memberships, the following recommendations were approved.

#### **Co-Curricular Committee**

The nominees for the Co-Curricular Committee are: Aman Litt (Chair), Geoff Whittall, Sebastian Fontaine, Emma Doris, Charlene MacIntyre and Tina Strasbourg.

#### **Convocation Committee**

The nominees for the Convocation Committee are: Aman Litt (Chair), John Rigby, Lindsey McNeil, Megan Slifka, Shawnna Boyd, Desiree Mearon, Teresa Bell, Charles Sanderson, Janelle MacRae, Keston Luke, Emma Doris, Shelly Hegge and Brian Parlee.

#### **Curriculum Committee**

The nominees for the Curriculum Committee are: Aman Litt (Chair), Bob Murray, John Rigby, Vanessa Sheane, Brian Redmond, Charles Sanderson, Megan Slifka, Luc Boyer, Jennifer Robertson, Tina Strasbourg/Craig Smith, Nicoletta Harabor/Tanya Keller, Abby Head/Carolyn Vasileiou, Dallas Sawtell, Valerie Ostara/Terrah Lindsay, Louise Rawluk/Tamara Van Tassell, Julia Dutove/Chris Nicol, Robert Howey, Chad Boone, Dave Hiebert/Peter Sellers, Clint Peterson, Karlee Worobetz/Christy Barlund, Brent Boutilier/Myles Mintzler, Clinton Derocher, Emma Doris and Devansh Kapoor

#### **Distance Education Committee**

The nominees for the Distance Education Committee are: John Rigby, Vanessa Sheane, Brian Redmond, Charles Sanderson, Ben Driedger, Carly McLeod, Tanya Ray, Deena Honan, Geoff Whittall, Katie Stabb and Devansh Kapoor.

#### **Nominating Committee**

The nominees for the Nominating Committee are: Julia Dutove (Chair), Misha Albert and Chad Boone.

#### **Program Review Committee**

The nominees for the Program Review Committee are: John Rigby (Chair), Aman Litt, Vanessa Sheane, Brian Redmond, Charles Sanderson, Luc Boyer, Brooklyn Broaders, Doris Hoveland, Les Rawluk, Clint Peterson, Lana Bennett, Stacey Basnett, Charlene Eckstrom and Lindsey McNeil.

## **Research Planning Committee**

The nominees for the Research Planning Committee are: John Rigby (Chair), Vanessa Sheane, Brian Redmond, Charles Sanderson, Andrew Dunlop, Julia Dutove, Nate Smith, Anna Lapointe, Ali-AL-Asadi, Chris Mizzi/Gavin Winter, James Phillips/Carolyn Vasileiou, Ubaid Abbasi/Denise Nowicki, Bonny Townsend, Charlene MacIntyre, Stacey Basnett/Lenora Roy, Lindsey McNeil and John Tiede.

## Student Awards Committee:

The nominees for the Student Awards Committee are: Christine Gurlitz (Chair), Roxanne Oliver/Bernie Matlock, Theresa Suderman, Tanya Keller, Riley Buker and Jennifer Robertson,

#### 4084 TENURE COMMITTEE

The following Grande Prairie Regional College employees were granted tenure in the 2019-2020 academic year: Dr. Beatrice Amar, Dr. Julia Dutove, Ms. Abigail Head, Mr. Delbert Lubeck, Ms. Janelle MacRae, dr. Jodi Peebles, Dr. Tina Strasbourg and Ms. Lorelle Warr.

## 4085 PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE

The Following Grande Prairie Regional College employees were approved for Professional Leave for the 2020-2021 academic year: Ms. Teresa Evans, Mr. Carl Ball (unable to complete leave due to COVID-19 travel restrictions).

## 4086 INSTRUCTOR EMERITUS APPLICATIONS

Academic Council received recommendations to approve eligible retired GPRC faculty to receive Instructor Emeritus status.

**MOVED** by; Vanessa Sheane and **SECONDED** by; Peter Sellers that, Academic Council approve the recommended eligible retired GPRC faculty to receive Instructor Emeritus status starting 8 October 2020.

## CARRIED

In approving the recommendations brought forward, Academic Council approved the following eligible retired faculty to receive GPRC Instructor Emeritus status starting 8 October 2020: Dr. Charles Backman and Ms. Emily Fraser.

## 4087 ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR

By acclamation, Dr. Julia Dutove as elected as Academic Chair for the 2020-2021 academic year.

- **4088 ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL VICE-CHAIR** By acclamation, Emma Doris was elected as Academic Council Vice-Chair for the 2020-2021 academic year.
- 4089 OPEN DISCUSSION

## 4090 ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 P.M.

Denise Nowicki, Chair

Laryssa Haycock, Records

4079	CALL TO ORDER	3159
4080	WELCOME	3159
4081	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	3159
4082	MINUTES	3159
4083	ACADEMIC COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE ELECTIONS	3159
4084	TENURE COMMITTEE	3160
4085	PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE	3160
4086	INSTRUCTOR EMERITUS APPLICATIONS.	3161
4087	ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR	3161
4088	ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL VICE-CHAIR	3161
4089	OPEN DISCUSSION	3161
4090	ADJOURNMENT	3161