

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES December 4, 2014

Members:

<u>Council Chair</u> : <u>Council Vice-Chair</u> :	Mr. Ali Al-Asadi Mr. Erik Derose	
<u>President</u> : <u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> <u>Deans</u> :	Mr. Don Gnatiuk Notice of Absence Ms. Susan Bansgrove Mr. Chris Laue Ms. Jean Nordin Dr. Shirley Pasieka	
<u>Academic Staff Association</u> :	Mr. Ali Al-Asadi Dr. Charles Backman Ms. Joan Cawthorn Dr. Rene Gadacz <i>Notice of Absence</i> Ms. Sheryl Heikel Ms. Cara Leaf Mr. Darcy Moss Ms. Cibylla Rakestraw Mr. Brian Redmond <i>Notice of Absence</i> Ms. Theresa Suderman Mr. Jim Wohlgemuth	
<u>Students' Association</u> :	Ms. Sara-Ann Armstrong Mr. Chance Davies Mr. Erik Derose Ms. Samara Drewe Ms. Kristen George Ms. Shanai Gies Mr. Bryce Kuechle Ms. Katey Pedersen Mr. Thomas Petersen	
Employees' Association:	Ms. Megan Ryan-Walsh Notice of Absence Ms. Shawnna Boyd Ms. Cate Sazwan	
Alberta Union of Provincial Employees:	Ms. Monica Macdonald Notice of Absence	
Community Members:	Ms. Brenda Beaulieu	

3782. CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m.

3783. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The Committee approved the agenda of December 4, 2014 as amended with the addition of: 4.3 Program Review Committee Nomination.

CARRIED

3784. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The committee approved the minutes from November 13, 2014 by consensus.

CARRIED

3785. IMPORTANT DATES/PROGRAM DATES

Academic Council received the Important Dates and Program Dates for 2015/2016 for approval.

MOVED by Ms. Nordin; **SECONDED** by Ms. Bansgrove that Academic Council approve the Important Dates and Program dates.

CARRIED

3786. PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE NOMINATION PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE

The nomination of Ms. Wendy Shyiak was withdrawn. Background information of two remaining nominees was received from the Nominating Committee.

The two nominees for Program Review Committee are: Holly Sorgen and Darlene Repka-Smith.

Voting for the position of Community Member was held by secret ballot.

Ms. Holly Sorgen was elected to the position of Community Member for Program Review Committee.

MOVED by Mr. Derose; **SECONDED** by Ms. Drewe that Council approve Ms. Sorgen.

CARRIED

3787. OPEN DISCUSSION

Mr. Derose discussed student marks are not cumulative on Moodle and that students would like their papers and assignments back in a timely manner. Ms. Bansgrove will discuss with Deans and Chairs at the next Deans and Chairs' meeting.

3788. ADJUOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Mr. Ali Al-Asadi Chair Ms. Carol Rae Records

3782.	CALL TO ORDER	2912
3783.	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	2912
3784.	APPROVAL OF MINUTES	2912
3785.	IMPORTANT DATES/PROGRAM DATES	2912
3786.	PROGRAM REVIEW COMMITTEE NOMINATION	2912
3787.	OPEN DISCUSSION	2912
3788.	ADJUOURNMENT	2913