

# ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES October 11, 2018

# Members:

<u>Council Chair</u> : <u>Council Vice-Chair</u> :	Dr. Ali AL-Asadi
<u>President</u> : <u>Vice-President Academics and Research:</u> <u>Deans</u> :	Mr. Don Gnatiuk Dr. Kazem Mashkournia Mr. Chris Laue Dr. Shirley Pasieka Ms. Pam McInroy
<u>Academic Staff Association</u> :	Ms. Lori Bombier Mr. Delbert Lubeck Dr. Denise Nowicki Ms. Lorelle Warr Dr. Connie Korpan Mr. Richard McGrail Ms. Theresa Suderman Ms. Chantelle LaMotte Ms. Lindsay Rosser   <i>Notice of Absence</i> Dr. Christy Barlund Ms. Tamara Van Tassell
<u>Students' Association</u> : <u>Alternate:</u>	Mr. Blaine Badiuk Mr. Brent Nordhagen   <i>Notice of Absence</i> Mr. Ramon Ramirez III Ms. Lindsay Comeau Mr. Aaron Williams Mr. Joshua Calkins Ms. Megan Pieroway Ms. Rebecca Standing (FV) Ms. Trista Peterson Mr. Tyler Paetkau Mr. Conall Muir   <i>Notice of Absence</i>
Employees' Association: Alternate:	Ms. Charlene MacIntyre Ms. Lana Bennett Ms. Kelsi Molloy

<u>Alberta Union of Provincial Employees:</u> <u>Alternate:</u>

Community Members:

Ms. Stacey Basnett | *Notice of Absence* Ms. Lenora Roy | *Notice of Absence* 

Mr. Nick Radujko Ms. Sandra Impey

#### 3982 CALL TO ORDER

The chair called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

# 3983 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved by consensus as presented.

# 3984 APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of September 13, 2018 were approved by consensus as presented.

# 3985 ACADEMIC COUNCIL ORIENTATION

An Academic Council Orientation was presented by the Chair of Academic Council Dr. Ali AL-Asadi as information.

# 3986 ACADEMIC POLICY

None to report

#### 3987 COMMITTEE REPORTS

Convocation Committee

Academic Council received the October 2, 2018 minutes of the Convocation Committee as information.

**MOVED** by Ms. McInroy and **SECONDED** by Mr. Badiuk that; Academic Council approve the recommendation contained within the Convocation Committee minutes of October 2, 2018.

#### CARRIED

In approving the recommendation contained within the October 2, 2018 Convocation minutes the following was approved:

Approve the change of Convocation Ceremony venue to the Douglas J. Cardinal Theatre, with a morning ceremony for certificates and diplomas, and an afternoon ceremony for degree occurring on the same day, May 4, 2019.

#### 3988 ACADEMIC COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

**MOVED** by Dr. Mashkournia and **SECONDED** by Mr. Ramirez III, that Academic Council approve the recommended Academic Council Sub-Committee members as submitted.

#### CARRIED

In approving the Academic Council Sub-Committee memberships the following recommendations were approved.

Co-Curricular Committee

The nominees for the Co-Curricular Committee are: Ms. Pam McInroy, Mr. Edward Bader, Ms. Chris Lorelle Warr, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Ms. Carla Dodd and Ms. Carolyn Vasileiou.

**Curriculum Committee** 

The nominees for the Curriculum Committee are: Mr. Don Gnatiuk, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Ms. Pam McInroy, Dr. Brian Redmond, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Mr. Chris Laue, Ms. Megan Slifka, Mr. Gordon Pellerin, Mr. Mohammad Amin, Ms. Jennifer Robertson, Mr. Blain Badiuk, Ms. Tina Strasbourg/Mr. Craig Smith, Dr. Reddy Ganta/Ms. Nicoletta Harabor, Ms. Abby Head, Ms. Dallas Sawtell, Ms. Tanya Ray, Ms. Michelle Turick, Mr. Chris Nicol, Dr. Robert Howey, Mr. Chad Boone, Mr. Peter Sellers, Mr. Jerry Chik, Dr. Christy Barlund Ms. Lindsay Rosser, Mr. Peter Gerzanich and Mr. Brent Nordhagen.

Student Awards Committee

The nominees for the Student Awards Committee are: Ms. Carla Dodd, Mr. Keston Luke, Ms. Theresa Suderman, Ms. Heather Joyce, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Mr. Brent Nordhagen, Ms. Joanne Perrott and Mr. Gordon Pellerin.

**MOVED** by Mr. Radujko and **SECONDED** by Mr. Paetkau that Academic Council grant full authority to the Student Awards Committee to approve all student awards for the fall 2018. Academic Council will re-evaluate the process of approvals and reporting structure of the Student Awards Committee following the Government of Alberta review of the Post-Secondary Learning Act.

CARRIED

It was noted that the Terms of Reference of the Students Awards Committee dated April 12, 2007 contained an error in the reporting structure. It was stated that the Students Award Committee reports to Financial Aid Liaison instead of Academic Council. Members of Council unanimously accepted the change from Financial Aid Liaison to Academic Council.

# 3989 ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR

By acclamation, Dr. Denise Nowicki was elected as Academic Council Chair for the 2018/2019 academic year.

# 3990 ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL VICE-CHAIR

By acclamation, Mr. Tyler Paetkau was elected as Academic Council Vice-Chair for the 2018/2019 academic year.

#### 3991 OPEN DISCUSSION

Academic Council would like to express their appreciation to Dr. Ali AL-Asadi for his dedication and leadership while acting as Chair of Academic Council during the past four terms.

#### 3992 ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Dr. Ali AL-Asadi, Chair

Ms. Laryssa Haycock, Records

3982	CALL TO ORDER	.3080
3983	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	.3080
3984	APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES	.3080
3985	ACADEMIC COUNCIL ORIENTATION	.3080
3986	ACADEMIC POLICY	.3080
3987	COMMITTEE REPORTS	.3080
3988	ACADEMIC COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE ELECTIONS	.3081
3989	ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL CHAIR	3082
3990	ELECTION OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL VICE-CHAIR.	3082
3991	OPEN DISCUSSION	3082
3992	ADJOURNMENT	3082