

# ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 13, 2018

Members:

Council Chair: Dr. Ali AL-Asadi

Council Vice-Chair:

<u>President</u>: Mr. Don Gnatiuk

Vice-President Academics and Research: Dr. Kazem Mashkournia

<u>Deans</u>: Mr. Chris Laue

Dr. Shirley Pasieka | **Notice of Absence** (Dr. Brian Redmond for)

Ms. Pam McInroy

Academic Staff Association: Ms. Lori Bombier

Mr. Delbert Lubeck
Dr. Denise Nowicki
Ms. Lorelle Warr
Dr. Connie Korpan
Mr. Richard McGrail
Ms. Theresa Suderman
Ms. Chantelle LaMotte

Ms. Lindsay Rosser | *Notice of Absence* 

Dr. Christy Barlund Ms. Tamara Van Tassell

<u>Students' Association</u>: Mr. Blaine Badiuk

Mr. Brent Nordhagen Mr. Ramon Ramirez III Ms. Lindsay Comeau

<u>Employees' Association</u>: Ms. Charlene MacIntyre

Alberta Union of Provincial Employees: Ms. Stacey Basnett

Ms. Lenora Roy | Notice of Absence

<u>Community Members</u>: Mr. Nick Radujko

Ms. Sandra Impey

### 3970 CALL TO ORDER

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

#### 3971 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The agenda was approved by consensus as presented.

# 3972 APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of May 10, 2018 were approved by consensus as presented.

# 3973 ACADEMIC POLICY

None to report

## 3974 COMMITTEE REPORTS

Convocation Committee

Academic Council received the April 4, 2018 minutes of the Convocation Committee as information.

Academic Council received the June 5, 2018 minutes of the Convocation Committee as information without approving the recommendation to approve the change in venue for Convocation contained within the June 5, 2018 Convocation Committee minutes.

**Fast Track Committee** 

Academic Council received the June 13, 2018 minutes of the Fast Track Committee as information.

Academic Council received the July 9, 2018 minutes of the Fast Track Committee as information.

## 3975 ACADEMIC COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE ELECTIONS

**MOVED** by Dr. Korpan and **SECONDED** by Mr. Laue, that Academic Council approve the recommended Academic Council Sub-Committee members as submitted.

**CARRIED** 

In approving the Academic Council Sub-Committee memberships the following recommendations were approved.

### Co-Curricular Committee

The nominees for the Co-Curricular Committee are: Ms. Pam McInroy, Mr. Edward Bader, Mr. Chris Nicol, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Ms. Carla Dodd and Ms. Carolyn Vasileiou.

### Convocation Committee

The nominees for the Convocation Committee are: Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Ms. Pam McInroy, Ms. Megan Slifka, Ms. Noreen Zhang, Mr. Chris Laue, Mr. Dwayne Head, Ms. Kathy Dube, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Ms. Janelle MacRae, Ms. Bonnie Hessler, Mr. Mark Evans, Mr. Brian Parlee/Mr. David White, Ms. Carrie Foster, Mr. Jordan Pickup/Ms. Paula Backer and Mr. Ron Thomson.

#### Curriculum Committee

The nominees for the Curriculum Committee are: Mr. Don Gnatiuk, Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Ms. Pam McInroy, Dr. Brian Redmond, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Mr. Chris Laue, Ms. Megan Slifka, Mr. Gordon Pellerin, Mr. Mohammad Amin, Ms. Jennifer Robertson, Mr. Blain Badiuk, Ms. Tina Strasbourg/Mr. Craig Smith, Ms. Sukhvir Sandhu/Ms. Nicoletta Harabor, Ms. Abby Head, Ms. Dallas Sawtell, Ms. Tanya Ray, Ms. Michelle Turick, Mr. Chris Nicol, Dr. Robert Howey, Mr. Chad Boone, Mr. Peter Sellers, Mr. Jerry Chik, Dr. Christy Barlund Ms. Lindsay Rosser and Mr. Peter Gerzanich.

## **Nominating Committee**

The nominees for the Nominating Committee are: Dr. Anna Lapointe, Dr. Denise Nowicki, Mr. Chad Boone and Ms. Lenora Roy.

# **Program Review Committee**

The nominees for the Program Review Committee are: Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Dr. Brian Redmond, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Mr. Chris Laue, Ms. Pam McInroy, Mr. Mohammad Amin, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Ms. Wendy McMillan, Dr. Ali AL-Asadi, Mr. Clint Peterson, Ms. Sheila Moerkoert, Ms. Cathy Srayko, Ms. Charlene Eckstrom and Mr. Mark Evans.

# **Research Planning Committee**

The nominees for the Research Planning Committee are: Dr. Kazem Mashkournia, Mr. Chris Laue, Dr. Brian Redmond, Dr. Shirley Pasieka, Dr. Andrew Dunlop, Dr. Denise Nowicki, Ms. Karen Oostra, Ms. Vanessa Sheane, Dr. Chris Mizzi/Dr. Christy Barlund, Mr. Kelly McNaught/Ms. Lorelle Warr, Ms. Raoudha Kallel/Ms. Shawna Henley, Dr. Daryl White, Ms. Anna Lapointe, Ms. Anna Gillis, Ms. Stacey Basnett, Mr. Blaine Badiuk, Mr. Nathanial Smith and Ms. Taylor Merkley.

### **Student Awards Committee**

The membership for the Student Awards Committee will be brought forward for approval at the next Academic Council meeting.

## 3976 TENURE COMMITTEE

The following Grande Prairie Regional College employees were granted Tenure in the 2016-2017 academic year: Mr. Jerry Chick, Ms. Eva O'Handley, Ms. Lindsay Rosser, Dr. Craig Smith and Ms. Michelle Turick.

## 3977 PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE

The following Grande Prairie Regional College employees were approved for Professional Leave for the 2018-2019 academic year: Ms. Bonnie Townsend, Ms. Carly McLeod, Ms. Deena Honan, Mr. Miroslaw Bator and Ms. Terrah Lindsay.

#### 3978 INSTRUCTOR EMERITUS APPLICATIONS

Academic Council received recommendations to approve eligible retired GPRC faculty to receive Instructor Emeritus status.

**MOVED** by Dr. Mashkournia and **SECONDED** by Dr. Korpan, that Academic Council approve the recommended eligible retired GPRC faculty to receive Instructor Emeritus status starting September 13, 2018.

**CARRIED** 

In approving the recommendations brought forward, Academic Council approved the following eligible retired faculty to receive GPRC Instructor Emeritus status starting September 13, 2018: Ms. Sharron Bar, Ms. Sheila Elliott, Ms. Liz Richard, Ms. Pat Caulfield Fontaine, Mr. David Gregg, Mr. George Hannah, Mr. Ken Housego, Dr. Phil Johnson, Dr. Som Pillay, Dr. Burt Hunt.

#### 3979 CONFLICT INTEREST FORM

Academic Council members received the GPRC Academic Council Conflict of Interest form to fill out and sign.

## 3980 OPEN DISCUSSION

#### 3981 ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

Dr. Ali AL-Asadi, Chair	Ms. Laryssa Haycock, Records

3970	CALL TO ORDER	3073
3971	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	3073
3972	APPROVAL OF ACADEMIC COUNCIL MINUTES	3073
3973	ACADEMIC POLICY	3073
3974	COMMITTEE REPORTS	3073
3975	ACADEMIC COUNCIL SUB-COMMITTEE ELECTIONS	.3073
3976	TENURE COMMITTEE	3075
3977	PROFESSIONAL LEAVE COMMITTEE	3075
3978	INSTRUCTOR EMERITUS APPLICATIONS	.3075
3979	CONFLICT INTEREST FORM	.3075
3980	OPEN DISCUSSION	3075
3981	ADJOURNMENT	3075