Skip to main content

Main Menu


What is Treaty 8?

Treaty 8 was signed on 21 June 1899 by the Crown and First Nations of the Lesser Slave Lake area.

The treaty covers roughly 841,487.137 km2 of what was formerly the North-West Territories and British Columbia, and now includes northern Alberta, northwest Saskatchewan, and portions of the modern Northwest Territories and BC, making it the largest treaty by area in the history of Canada.

The terms and implementation of Treaty 8 differ importantly from those of previous Numbered Treaties, with long-lasting consequences for the governance and peoples of that area.

Learn More about Treaty 8

Contact Us

For more information on how to use the land acknowledgement statement, please contact;

Desiree Mearon
Indigenous Liaison Coordinator, Indigenous Services
Office: C208
Phone: (780) 539-2020